Books

Beautiful People // 2016 Writer Goals

What were your writing achievements last year?

I finally participated in NaNoWriMo! I have wanted to give it a go for eight years now, no exaggeration. I even did pretty decently in the beginning, for the first half I was on track to finish a week early. Damn my lack of carry through.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year.

My number one writing priority is to blog consistently (Hello, folks!). I’d like to think I have the know how, or at least to get started, and the ideas. What I lack is the discipline to see my ideas through to the end, so it’s time to fix that by practicing writing, even casually, every day.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

1. Discipline. I can’t get anywhere if I’m not working to get there.

2. Planning more and pantsing less. I always get stuck with plot holes, which is why I fell off the bandwagon with my NaNoWriMo book.

3. Network with other writers & readers. Who can complain about new friends? Bonus is hearing other people talk about what they’re working on makes me want to return to my own work as well.

4. Read more. My goal is to read 52 books, one for every week of the year. Follow me on Goodreads if you want to keep track of that adventure!

5. Analytise more. Sure I read three books that had three plots, but what can I take out of that? How does it relate to society at large?

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

Every writing goal is a writing challenge, in my books! Other than blogging and working on my book I started last November, I love the idea of continuing these Beautiful People posts throughout the year to keep the conversation going and remember to come back to my novel even when it’s hard.

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

So far my only partner in crime is my significant other but he is fantastic to bounce ideas and problems off of. When I get around to the editing stage, though, I’ll need to find another buddy because that’s not his expertise, as much as he will kindly listen to me complain.

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?

I’m rereading The Elements of Style by Strunk and White, and I have a pile of nonfiction/journalism books. Good for blogging, if not noveling:

image

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

Ugh. Probably the antagonist of my NaNoWriMo novel. I have a general idea of who he is but little background information as to how he ended up the way he did.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

Edit! Lots of editting this year once I finish my first draft. I don’t have any plans in the foreseeable future to query. I’ll probably just start at the beginning and go through. As my first round of editing, it will focus on fixing anything left broken in the plot and rewriting crappy scenes, not so much the perfect wording or double checking my writing style.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

There are still so many fiction books I haven’t read yet I feel like I’m drowning. Kind of a small niche, but in the nonfiction realm I’d kill to see more books like Unprocessed by Megan Kimble. It was a well-researched memoir about food processing. Engaging, motivating, and not at all quacky or requiring you to believe any certain food group is evil. It relates back to the economy, ecology, and a generous nod to feminism and poverty.

I looked for similar books, but most of them are just How-To guides with minimal explanation or retracable research.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

  • Finish the 1st draft of my novel
  • Begin editing my novel
  • Publish 100 blog posts

 

That sums up my goals for 2016! Follow me on Twitter and tell me what you’re working on this year.


Beautiful People: Paper Fury

Beautiful People is a monthly link up hosted by Cait of Paper Fury and Sky of Further Up and Further In. Every month there’s a new set of questions regarding your writing, book, and characters.

7 thoughts on “Beautiful People // 2016 Writer Goals

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your blog post… To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

  2. Hi Kate! new writer friend saying hello here via beautiful people 🙂 I should have put that in my goals too: “more writers friends”! is there such thing as too many? NO! 🙂
    Discipline, discipline… I do need that too! Couldn’t agree more with your “Every writing goal is a writing challenge” I feel like that too 🙂
    Lucky your significant other is helping you. I’m the only writer/reader in my little circle of trust. 😦
    So I’ll have to gather the courage to get a critique partner one day 🙂
    Good luck with your goals!
    These are mine: http://www.danielaark.com/what-a-week-33-writing-tip-setting-up-goals/
    Now off to browse your blog. RedHeadedBookLover loves it and I want to check it out 🙂

    Like

    1. I think you’d be hard pressed to have too many friends, period! I’ve only just met Red Headed Book Lover and I’m already 99% sure she’s the biggest sweetheart.

      I was very shocked when I realized how talented my significant other is because he loathes reading and writing (but now enjoys audiobooks). You just never know where your help is going to come from

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

